2011 Nebula Award Nominees

Although I only started following genre awards last year, the Nebulas are proving to be the awards that I get the most excited about, simply because there’s more of a chance I’ve actually read (and liked) the work that’s nominated. Which of course means that I am also more likely to have thoughts and opinions on the nominees in question. Links are to my posts on the books.

Novel

My Thoughts

I am beyond excited that Among Others is on the list – it’s a fantastic book. It’s also the one I predict will win. I’m also pretty happy that God’s War and The Kingdom of Gods are on there too. Although I appreciated Mechanique more than I actually enjoyed it, I concede it is a well-written book in its own right. As for Embassytown… well, it’s China Miéville. Anytime he writes something, it’s pretty much guaranteed that it will be nominated for some, if not all, of the awards. But seriously, what’s up with Firebird? Jack McDevitt was on the final ballot last year too and he was the odd one out then as well. (Granted, I’ve never read anything by him, so I could be sticking my foot up my mouth right now.)

Novella

  • “Kiss Me Twice,” Mary Robinette Kowal (Asimov’s Science Fiction, June 2011)
  • “Silently and Very Fast,” Catherynne M. Valente (WFSA Press; Clarkesworld Magazine, October 2011)
  • “The Ice Owl,” Carolyn Ives Gilman (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction,November/December 2011)
  • “The Man Who Bridged the Mist,” Kij Johnson (Asimov’s Science Fiction, October/November 2011)
  • “The Man Who Ended History: A Documentary,” Ken Liu (Panverse Three, Panverse Publishing)
  • “With Unclean Hands,” Adam-Troy Castro (Analog Science Fiction and Fact, November 2011)

My Thoughts

I haven’t read any of them, so nothing to say here. Except that I really, really need to read “Silently and Very Fast”.

Novelette

  • “Fields of Gold,” Rachel Swirsky (Eclipse 4, Night Shade Books)
  • “Ray of Light,” Brad R. Torgersen (Analog Science Fiction and Fact, December 2011)
  • “Sauerkraut Station,” Ferrett Steinmetz (Giganotosaurus, November 2011)
  • “Six Months, Three Days,” Charlie Jane Anders (Tor.com, June 2011)
  • “The Migratory Pattern of Dancers,” Katherine Sparrow (Giganotosaurus, July 2011)
  • “The Old Equations,” Jake Kerr (Lightspeed Magazine, July 2011)
  • “What We Found,” Geoff Ryman (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, September/October 2011)

My Thoughts

Same deal as above, except this time I need to read “Fields of Gold”.

Short Story

  • Her Husband’s Hands,” Adam-Troy Castro (Lightspeed Magazine, October 2011)
  • “Mama, We are Zhenya, Your Son,” Tom Crosshill (Lightspeed Magazine, April 2011)
  • “Movement,” Nancy Fulda (Asimov’s Science Fiction, March 2011)
  • “Shipbirth,” Aliette de Bodard (Asimov’s Science Fiction, February 2011)
  • “The Axiom of Choice,” David W. Goldman (New Haven Review, Winter 2011)
  • “The Cartographer Wasps and the Anarchist Bees,” E. Lily Yu (Clarkesworld Magazine, April 2011)
  • “The Paper Menagerie,” Ken Liu (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, March/April 2011)

My Thoughts

I’ve actually read things this time! I was more interested in the fact that the author of “Mama We are Zhenya, Your Son” was a physics undergrad and a nuclear reactor operator at my college – otherwise, the story was too hard science-y for me. “The Cartographer Wasps and the Anarchist Bees” was an intriguing story, but not particularly memorable. Ah well.

Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation

  • Attack the Block, Joe Cornish (writer/director) (Optimum Releasing; Screen Gems)
  • Captain America: The First Avenger, Christopher Markus, Stephen McFeely (writers), Joe Johnston (director) (Paramount)
  • Doctor Who: “The Doctor’s Wife,” Neil Gaiman (writer), Richard Clark (director) (BBC Wales)
  • Hugo, John Logan (writer), Martin Scorsese (director) (Paramount)
  • Midnight in Paris, Woody Allen (writer/director) (Sony)
  • Source Code, Ben Ripley (writer), Duncan Jones (director) (Summit)
  • The Adjustment Bureau, George Nolfi (writer/director) (Universal)

My Thoughts

I am a lot less opinionated when it comes to movies and TV. In other words, this is the category whose outcome I will care the least about.

Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy Book

  • Akata Witch, Nnedi Okorafor (Viking Juvenile)
  • Chime, Franny Billingsley (Dial Books; Bloomsbury)
  • Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Laini Taylor (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers; Hodder & Stoughton)
  • Everybody Sees the Ants, A.S. King (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers)
  • The Boy at the End of the World, Greg van Eekhout (Bloomsbury Children’s Books)
  • The Freedom Maze, Delia Sherman (Big Mouth House)
  • The Girl of Fire and Thorns, Rae Carson (Greenwillow Books)
  • Ultraviolet, R.J. Anderson (Orchard Books; Carolrhoda Books)
My Thoughts

Chime was nominated! YES. I kind of want it to win the award really badly. Akata Witch wouldn’t be a bad choice either. Books I haven’t read yet, but want to eventually are Daughter of Smoke and Bone, The Freedom Maze, and Ultraviolet. I tried reading The Girl of Fire and Thorns over winter break and wasn’t impressed, but I’m in the minority on that one.

Final thoughts? I really need to start reading more short fiction. I was doing so well this time last year, and then I stopped reading them sometime this summer. My goal right now is to try and read as many of the nominated short fiction as I can so I can have more of an opinion on the matter when the final results are announced. Other than that, I am definitely pleased with many of the nominees for Best Novel and the Andre Norton Award. Congratulations to all who were nominated!

Leave a Reply

